Performances at Assembly

Great Performances at Middle North

The sixth, seventh and eighth grade Orchestra, Band and Chorus did a fabulous job performing at Middle North’s annual assembly on December 18.


Order your 2018/19 Yearbook Now

Order your 2018/19 Yearbook from ED Clark now.  Follow the link below and assure you get your yearbook when it comes in this spring.

MSN Yearbook Order

students tie-dye shirts

Time to Tie-Dye T-Shirts

It may be cold outside, but the Garden Club at Middle School North is still busy with fun projects. On Monday, they learned how to tie-dye shirts. They didn’t use just any colors; they used Hawthorn blue and gold. With the help of Ms. Silvertrust and a volunteer, each student created a one-of-a-kind colorful t-shirt that they can wear with Hawthorn pride.


Students make holiday cards

Spreading Good Cheer

At last week’s Advisory, sixth-grade students at Middle School North made holiday cards for the residents of Misericordia.

The Middle Years: Working Together for School Success

Growing Responsibility / Responsabilidad creciente. Please read the December edition of The Middle Years here.

The Middle Years, Growing Responsibility



‘EL GRUPO FOLKLÓRICO MÉXICO’!   ¡Vengan a disfrutar una noche de baile folklórico y la cultura mexicana!

Come and enjoy a night of folkloric dance and Mexican culture!

  • Friday, November 30th
  • School of Dual Language / Townline School
  • 6:30-7:30 pm

Hosted by the School of Dual Language, we hope you will join us for this high energy, fun evening.

Folkloric Night-English

Folkloric Night – Español

Visit the Book Fair at Middle School North

Monday, November 19th 2:30 p.m – 8:00 p.m.

Books will be on display in the cafeteria available for purchase Monday during conferences.

The online Book Fair runs November 14th through November 27th

We will be collecting monetary donations for “All for Books” in the main office from now until November 20th.

Thank you for supporting the MSN Book Fair!

FREE Online Tutoring from Cook Memorial Library

It is that time of year again! It seems like all of our students and their families are looking for ways to boost their grade and get extra academic help.

In case you didn’t know, Cook Memorial Library offers free online tutoring and homework help to any student that has a library card. This tutoring allows our students to chat online with a real person (No robo tutors here!) and ask questions using an interactive chat window. This tutoring service covers all subject areas including Spanish, Writing and Grammar/Proof Reading assistance.
Students in trenches

Life in the Trenches

While studying World War I, students in Mr. McKenzie and Ms. Balmes’ social studies classes at Middle School North enjoyed an experiential learning experience in trench warfare. Students explored trench warfare photographs and diagrams, learned about chemical warfare, and constructed gas masks for the experience. On the day of the event, students were read excerpts from “All Quiet on the Western Front” as they digested the fear, anticipation, and yes, even boredom brought on because of life in the trenches.

Important ESSA Information Letter from Principal Collins

The State of IL released its newly updated IL School Report Card on Oct. 31, 2018.  This report card is aligned with our nation’s federal education law, Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA).  This year, Middle School North has earned a Tier 1 designation.  This means our performance, as measured by the Illinois ESSA Plan has no underperforming student subgroups and is performing at the top 10% of the State of Illinois.  Please read the following letters for full and complete information regarding this ESSA designation.

ESSA Letter from Principal Collins

ESSA Dist 73 & State of IL Letter

Having Fun at the MSN Pep Assembly

A Letter from the Middle North Nurse

Dear Parent or Guardian:
A case of mononucleosis has been reported in your child’s school.

Estimados Padres:

Se ha reportado un caso de mononucleosis en la escuela de su hijo.

Mono-Hawthorn Middle School North

Chemist Provides Overview on Water Distribution Systems

Chemist Tanya Lubner-Brumer, Director of Professional Certification and Training with the Water Quality Association, gave presentations on water quality to Middle School North’s eighth-grade classes. She spoke about the point-of-use/point-of-entry water treatment industry, giving important information to students on how water is treated and distributed. One of the things she said is that the water in Vernon Hills comes from Chicago through 118 miles of water mains and six storage reservoirs. It takes many engineers and chemists to ensure the water quality stays at specific standards.

Snowflake Event Presentation


On Friday night, Middle School North, Middle School South and Oak Grove welcomed approximately 400 students for Snowflake, a fun retreat focusing on personal and social development, promoting sound decision-making and emphasizing teens helping teens. The event was broken up into large group sessions, in which the students watched performances and presentations, and small group sessions, in which they engaged in activities led by high school students and adults. A special shout out to the 40+ staff members and 40 high school volunteers for facilitating groups and working with the students to focus on ways to “wake up, be kind, and repeat”. Lastly, thank you to all of the parents who allowed their students to attend and/or joined us for the parent piece at the end of the evening.